Liskow Attorney Lawrence Simon Awarded IEL's Lifetime Achievement in Energy Litigation Award


Liskow & Lewis is pleased to announce Lawrence Simon has been awarded the Institute of Energy Law’s Lifetime Achievement in Energy Litigation Award. 

At the Annual Energy Litigation Conference each November, this award is made to an energy litigator whose achievements either in the course of his or her career or during a particular piece or series of litigation have won the admiration of peers. 

Lawrence Simon graduated from Tulane Law School in 1972, and has practiced law with Liskow & Lewis in the firm’s Lafayette office for the past 43 years. Litigation matters involving oil, gas and property issues are the focus of Mr. Simon’s practice. For three decades, he has handled a wide variety of general commercial disputes in federal and state courts throughout Louisiana. 

His extensive experience in energy litigation cases covers all of the major substantive areas affecting the oil and gas industry for the past four decades, including broad experience litigating issues involving regulatory rulings and orders of the Department of Conservation. His litigation practice has emphasized oil and gas royalty and other mineral lease issues, energy marketing contract disputes and cases involving the processing of natural gas and the contracts affecting those operations. 

Mr. Simon has been recognized by Chambers USA, Benchmark Litigation, Best Lawyers in America, and Super Lawyers. He is also a fellow of the Litigation Counsel of America. In addition to his active practice, Mr. Simon has served both in the House of Delegates and on the Board of Governors of the Louisiana State Bar Association and was president of the Young Lawyers section of the Louisiana Bar. He also served on the Board of the Young Lawyer Division of the ABA and on the Board of Directors of the American Judicature Society. He likewise was past president of the American Inn of Court of Acadiana. Mr. Simon has been active in the Institute of Energy Law for many years and is currently Senior Vice-Chair of the IEL.